Practical guide

Bahrain mandatory health insurance for residents: the reported 31 October start

By Gaurav Agarwal · Updated 21 October 2026

Reported by News of Bahrain on 17 October 2026. The official text has not been published yet; we will update this page when it is.

News of Bahrain reported that Bahrain’s National Health Insurance Programme for eligible residents will start on 31 October 2026. News of Bahrain reported that the mandatory package covers primary and secondary care, emergency treatment and accidents, with domestic workers, government-entity resident employees and their dependants excluded from this rollout.

Read the closest official benefit-package tender
Bahrain mandatory health insurance for residents: the reported 31 October start
Jump to a step
  1. Reported
  2. Official today
  3. What to check
  4. Permits
  5. Cost
  6. Still unclear
  7. FAQs
  8. Official sources

01What was reported

News of Bahrain reported on 17 October that the Supreme Council of Health chairman had confirmed a 31 October 2026 start for the National Health Insurance Programme for Residents.

News of Bahrain reported that optional packages with wider coverage will also be available to beneficiaries and employers.

What the checked sources say
QuestionCurrent answer
Start dateNews of Bahrain reported a 31 October 2026 start, citing the SCH chairman.
Mandatory coverNews of Bahrain reported primary and secondary care, emergency treatment and accidents.
ExclusionsNews of Bahrain reported that domestic workers, government-entity resident employees and their dependants are outside this rollout.
Wider coverNews of Bahrain reported that additional packages will be available for beneficiaries and employers seeking wider coverage.

02What is official today

What is official today

The Tender Board published the Hakeem procurement on 31 December 2024. It describes the selection of an insurance provider for a mandatory health benefit package for residents. News of Bahrain does not name Hakeem, so this is the closest official document we found; it is not the official launch text.

The official Hakeem tender scope includes primary, secondary and emergency health services.

03What residents and employers should check now

Private-sector employees should ask their employer or insurer whether the current policy meets the required benefits. The Tender Board’s Hakeem page is the closest official procurement document we found, but News of Bahrain does not name Hakeem.

Family sponsors should ask who will arrange each dependant’s cover and whether an existing family policy remains valid for the next residence-permit action. News of Bahrain reported a link between coverage and work and residence permit issuance and renewal, but it did not publish a resident-facing form or universal purchase link.

News of Bahrain reported that domestic workers, residents employed by government entities and their dependants are outside this rollout. Check the policy holder’s instructions before cancelling existing cover or starting a renewal.

04How the permit link is described

News of Bahrain reported that the SCH chairman linked insurance coverage to the issuance and renewal of work and residence permits. The official operational text is still pending, and the captured report does not describe a new screen, upload field, grace period or rejection message.

For a permit due soon, ask the relevant employer, sponsor or insurer whether compliant cover has been recorded. The checked public sources do not support a more detailed click-by-click process.

05What is known about cost

News of Bahrain did not state one premium for residents. It also did not list one dependant price, co-payments, annual limits or insurer-specific networks.

Treat a price without an official package document or insurer quotation as unconfirmed. News of Bahrain reported the mandatory benefits and the availability of optional wider packages, but it did not publish a price list.

06What the official pages do not yet explain

A Tender Board procurement published on 31 December 2024 describes Hakeem and its service scope, but it is a procurement page rather than the official launch text or a resident enrolment guide. News of Bahrain does not name Hakeem. The captured launch report does not identify a public enrolment portal, state the final premium or explain every transition rule for existing employer policies.

This guide will need an operational update when the SCH, LMRA, NPRA or an authorised programme portal publishes the resident-facing steps and final package documents.

07FAQs

When does Bahrain’s resident health insurance start?

News of Bahrain reported that the programme will start on 31 October 2026.

Are domestic workers included?

News of Bahrain reported that domestic workers are outside this resident programme rollout.

Does insurance affect residence-permit renewal?

News of Bahrain reported that the SCH chairman linked insurance coverage to work and residence permit issuance and renewal. The official operational workflow is still pending.

How much will the insurance cost?

News of Bahrain did not state one resident premium in the captured launch report. Check an approved package document or an insurer quotation.

What healthcare is covered?

News of Bahrain reported that the mandatory package covers primary and secondary healthcare, emergency treatment and accidents within approved benefits and rules.

08Official sources

Sources checked 21 October 2026.